In 2019, the Governor’s Highway Safety Association (GHSA) reported that there were 519 pedestrian deaths that took place in California between the months of January and June. With the alarming amount of pedestrian deaths in California, it is no wonder that it is one of the top five states accounting for almost half, 47 percent, of all pedestrian deaths.

Fortunately, California offers many legal protections for pedestrians who are injured after a pedestrian accident. If you or a loved one were involved in a pedestrian collision, you may be entitled to compensation.

There are right-of-way laws regulating pedestrian safety. A $220 penalty will be given to any driver who fails to yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian when there are injuries involved. A $1,000 fine and/or six months in prison will be charged to those who do not yield to a blind pedestrian.

Steps to Take Immediately After a Pedestrian Accident

It’s understandable to feel overwhelmed after a pedestrian accident. However, it is crucial that you take certain steps in order to protect your rights and recover maximum compensation.

With that said, your health should be your first concern if you have suffered injuries after a pedestrian accident. Always call 911 and request help if you are hurt. Even if you don’t feel pain immediately after an accident, It’s possible that you may be seriously injured.

Further complicating matters is the reality that serious injuries don’t always show adverse symptoms until several days or weeks after an accident took place. Whether you believe you are seriously injured, please seek medical treatment as soon as possible.

The next thing you must do is gather the following information and make sure to include:

  • The names and contact information for all parties involved in the pedestrian accident
  • The driver’s name, driver’s license, insurance information, and license plate number(s)
  • The contact information for any witnesses to the pedestrian accident
  • Photos/videos of the accident scene, the offending vehicle, and your injuries

Most importantly: DO NOT admit fault or suggest who may be at-fault, even if you feel that you were responsible. DO NOT SPEAK about the accident at all, if you can help it. Discussing the accident — and worse, apologizing for it — will not help you and can, in fact, be used against you.

Finally, do not attempt to negotiate directly with the insurance company. Insurance companies are not on your side and will certainly pressure you into settling for less money than you deserve. An experienced pedestrian accident attorney will deal with the insurance companies for you, and will always be there to answer any questions you may have about liability or damages owed to you.

Share This!

Car Accident FAQs

Related Posts

Car Accident FAQs

Car Accident FAQs Q: Do I have to call the police after a car accident in California? A: Yes. Notifying the…


Get A Free Case Review!


Your privacy and safety is of the utmost importance to us. Please know that anything you share through this website is secure and confidential. You can also call our office directly: ‪(415) 461-5400‬. Your contacting The Abel Firm is confidential.

Skip to content